Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dam a Camera Fault

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tokoroa South Waikato
    Posts
    2,780

    Default Dam a Camera Fault

    Well I have had my first ever canon camera fault.
    The Jog wheel behind the shutter button has stopped working. Urghhhh

    Just when I have some enforced time off to get out and about the camera faults, it must be Karma.

    BTW EOS 60D
    I Just Have Cameras and Stuff
    I don't have an Artistic Eye - I have a Technical Bent & a love of Gadgets
    Give an Artist a box of different sized colour blocks and he will create an art work; give me the same box and I will sort it by colour and then size :)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    563

    Default

    Do you have a grip on the body?, if so, take it off & try without. If it works, clean the contacts on the grip & in the battery compartment.

    Failing that, seeing its are reasonably new body, probably warranty claim.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tokoroa South Waikato
    Posts
    2,780

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Vuleta View Post
    Do you have a grip on the body?, if so, take it off & try without. If it works, clean the contacts on the grip & in the battery compartment.

    Failing that, seeing its are reasonably new body, probably warranty claim.
    Good tip will try without the grip and see what happens. Yep warranty, but it wont be an overnight fix if the wheel has failed.
    I Just Have Cameras and Stuff
    I don't have an Artistic Eye - I have a Technical Bent & a love of Gadgets
    Give an Artist a box of different sized colour blocks and he will create an art work; give me the same box and I will sort it by colour and then size :)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    4,649

    Default

    You've probably not done this but is the unit switched on properly? The canons usually have two settings. The first setting switches the camera on but disables some of the rear buttons.
    Canon > 5DIII | 17-40 L | 35 L | 24-105 L | 70-200 f/2.8 IS II L | 100 L | 400 f/2.8 IS II L | 600 EX-RT | 1.4x TC III | 2x TC III

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tokoroa South Waikato
    Posts
    2,780

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Adam View Post
    You've probably not done this but is the unit switched on properly? The canons usually have two settings. The first setting switches the camera on but disables some of the rear buttons.
    Your right I have been there done this, it is not that with the 60D.
    I Just Have Cameras and Stuff
    I don't have an Artistic Eye - I have a Technical Bent & a love of Gadgets
    Give an Artist a box of different sized colour blocks and he will create an art work; give me the same box and I will sort it by colour and then size :)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Tokoroa South Waikato
    Posts
    2,780

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mark Vuleta View Post
    Do you have a grip on the body?, if so, take it off & try without. If it works, clean the contacts on the grip & in the battery compartment.

    Failing that, seeing its are reasonably new body, probably warranty claim.
    Yep your right works when I remove the grip. Now to work out how to clean the contacts at the top of the battery compartment, the grip contacts have been cleaned but no change.
    Well at least my faith in Canon quality continues, it is not a camera fault
    I Just Have Cameras and Stuff
    I don't have an Artistic Eye - I have a Technical Bent & a love of Gadgets
    Give an Artist a box of different sized colour blocks and he will create an art work; give me the same box and I will sort it by colour and then size :)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •